Protective Orders and No Contact Provisions in Texas
Denton & Collin County Domestic Violence Lawyers
A protective order (a Magistrate's Order for Emergency Protection) prohibits a person charged with domestic assault, stalking, or harassment from having contact with the person filing the complaint. The person facing charges will be ordered not to come within a certain distance of the complainant's home or office. He or she may also be prevented from contacting friends and family of the complainant.
A protective order in Texas can be a serious problem if the two people share a home. When the accused person leaves jail, he or she will have to find a new place to live and arrange to get their possessions without violating the terms of the protective order.
No Contact Orders in Texas
Under Texas law, 71.001 et seq., no contact orders are provided to protect individuals from domestic violence. Protective orders can be temporary with a maximum time frame of 20 days (can be extended) or general which can last up to two years. If the order is violated, the offender can face $4,000 fine and/or one year in jail.
Defense Against Protective Orders in Texas
Are you facing the threat of a protective order for a domestic violence charge in Denton County or Collin County, Texas? You're not alone. It's increasingly common for people to find themselves charged with domestic abuse in the course of a divorce because the spouse wants them out of the house.
If someone has filed for a temporary protective order against you, a thorough and aggressive Denton defense lawyer can make a tremendous difference in the outcome of your case. Protect your rights and your property. Contact the Law Offices of Tim Powers.
For a free initial consultation, call (940) 580-2899.
Our Texas criminal defense attorneys have handled thousands of domestic violence / family violence cases. Defense on assault and abuse charges is a primary focus of our firm. Each of our lawyers is a superbly experienced in all facets of criminal defense in Denton County with years of experience tackling assault cases from both the defense and prosecution side.
In addition to the problems of where to live and how to regain your possessions, people on the wrong end of a protective order face other problems, such as:
- Bail and bond conditions: In Denton County, Texas bail may be set as high as $50,000 in domestic violence cases. After you are served a copy of the protective order the prosecutor may agree to reduce your bond, but that's little comfort if you've had to sit in jail or pay for an unnecessarily high bond.
- Consequences of violating no contact orders in Texas: If you violate the no contact order, even accidentally, and the complainant takes it to court, you may find yourself under arrest again and facing even higher bail.
Fighting No-Contact Orders and Violation Charges in Texas
Our experienced Denton County criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Tim Powers fight to minimize any potential effects of false accusations and unwarranted motions for protective orders.
You can talk to one of our lawyers in a free consultation: Call us today at (940) 580-2899. Se Habla Español.
Meet Our Team
Learn about our attorneys and their outstanding credentials.AboutUs
Hear from individuals who've actually worked with us.Read Our Reviews
We've successfully defended over 40,000 cases.Read Our Victories
Watch our videos to learn more about your charge.Watch Our Videos