Denton County Office 940.580.2899
Collin County Office 972.954.1947
Challenging DWI Charges We Can Help You Face DWI Charges, Standing at Your Side Throughout the Legal Process.

Denton County Lawyers for Multiple DWI Offenses

Trust in the Law Offices of Tim Powers to Help You

As you might expect, the court system gives an accused person charged with a subsequent DWI much more attention than they would a first time offender. By Statute, the Judge must order a breath test devise installed in a defendant's car as a condition of bail if the defendant is charged with a subsequent DWI.

In the old days, some judges would let this requirement slide. This is no longer the case. Nothing worries judges more than bad publicity and there's no worse publicity than a defendant getting into an intoxication-related accident while on bail for his or second DWI.

Schedule your free case evaluation by calling us at (940) 580-2899.

Punishments for Multiple and Felony DWI Charges

It is imperative that you understand the risks associated with driving while intoxicated. Aside from the dangers it presents, DWIs can result in lifelong changes.

If you are convicted of multiple DWIs, or a felony DWI, you face steep penalties, including:

  • A conviction for a second DWI carries with it more punishment. The top end of the range of punishment is increased to a maximum of 1 year in jail. Probation is still available, but there is a minimum of 3 days in jail required as a condition of probation.
  • A DWI charge after two prior convictions is a third degree felony. Punishment is increased, with a range of 2 to 10 years in prison. Probation is still available, but felony probation is onerous and minimum jail time rises to 10 days.

Currently, no matter how many prior DWI's you have received you are still potentially eligible for an occupational driver's license.

What You Need to Know

If this is your second DWI offense and your second driver's license suspension, your occupational license might not take effect immediately. If your license was previously suspended upon conviction of an intoxication offense in the last five years, the law does not allow for your occupational license to become effective until one year after the effective date of the new suspension.

If you had your license suspended because of a breath test refusal in the previous five years, your occupational license might not take effect until 90 days after the effective date of the new suspension. This is true irrespective of whether you were actually convicted of any prior intoxication offense.

Contact the Law Offices of Tim Powers for legal help with your Texas DWI / DUI arrest.

Contact Us Today!

Denton County 940.580.2899 215 West Oak Street
Denton, TX 76205 Map & Directions [+]
Collin County 972.954.1947 206 S. Kentucky Street, Suite 203 McKinney, TX 75069 Map & Directions [+]
Let us put our experience to work for you.
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please enter your charge.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter your date of arrest.
  • Please enter an answer.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.
We only accept Denton and Collin County inquiries*