Harboring a Runaway Child
Chapter 25 of the Texas Penal Code places restrictions and guidelines on offenses dealing with the family.
“Harboring a Runaway Child”, as per § 25.06 of the Texas Penal Code, occurs when an individual knowingly harbors a child and he is criminally negligent about whether the child:
- Is younger than 18 years; or
- Has escaped from the custody of a peace officer, a probation officer, the Texas Youth Council, or a detention facility for children, or is voluntarily absent from the child's home without the consent of the child's parent or guardian for a substantial length of time or without the intent to return.
An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
- Confinement in jail for a term not to exceed one year
- Fine not to exceed $4,000
- Both such fine and confinement