What you should know about a DWI
Law Office of Tim Powers
Have you recently been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas? If so, it is important to understand the many penalties you now face—even if it is your first offense
As you most likely know, it is illegal to operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. For this reason, a DWI first offense is a type of Class B Misdemeanor, which is the second most severe type of misdemeanor offense in the state (other examples of Class B Misdemeanors include theft and drug possession).
If convicted of a first offense, you can be sentenced to a minimum of 72 hours in jail. This number increases if you were caught driving with an open container of alcohol and, as a result, you may be behind bars for up to six days.
A DWI conviction is far from cheap. You may be fined up to $2,000—and this does not include the numerous administrative fees you may have to pay. The state of Texas also fines first offenders an additional $1,000 yearly surcharge, which must be paid for the next three years after your conviction. This fee doubles if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was 0.16% or higher.
The penalties for a DWI offense do not only include jail time and fees. If you are convicted of a first offense, you may lose your license for up to a year, or be ordered to attend a 12-hour DWI education program at your own expense. Community service and probation may be included in your sentence as well.
Along with the penalties, a DWI conviction will also impact your day-to-day life. Your auto insurance costs will skyrocket once your insurer learns of your conviction, and you may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. It is also important to remember that a DWI conviction will remain on your driving record forever, which may make obtaining certain jobs difficult, and result in higher insurance premiums for the course of your life.
Fortunately, a DWI arrest does not automatically lead to a conviction. An experienced DWI attorney can challenge the charges against you and, in many cases, may be able to reduce or eliminate them altogether.
As a member of the National College for DUI Defense, Denton County Defense attorney Tim Powers has the knowledge and experience to fight your DWI charges. Mr. Powers received training from the National Highway Safety Administration and, after representing hundreds of clients like you, is highly familiar with the first offense laws. Put his expertise to work for you. Contact Tim Powers today for a free consultation.
If you are seeking aggressive criminal representation by an experienced criminal defense attorney for your Denton County DWI case or arrest in Denton County, contact the offices of Tim Powers today. There is no charge or obligation for the initial consultation. 940.580.2899.
*Tim Powers is an attorney licensed to practice law by the Supreme Court of Texas. Nothing in this article is intended to be legal advice. For legal advice about any specific legal question you should directly consult an attorney.