DWI- Know the Facts- Law Offices of Tim Powers, Denton, Texas

Posted By Tim Powers || 14-May-2014

Tim Powers

Law Offices of Tim Powers, Denton Texas

940.580.2899 940.483.8000

“I never thought this could happen to me,” is one of the most common phrases associated with DWI arrests. It’s so easy to just tell people “If you drink, don’t drive,” or “Get a friend to drive you home.” But let’s be honest, that is not going to stop them from getting in the car. What can stop them though, are the facts.

As of 2013, there were 90,066 DUI arrests in the state of Texas alone. According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), an average drunk driver has driven drunk 80 times before being arrested for the first time. In 2012, 10,322 people died in drunk driving crashes; that is one death for every 51 minutes. In 2011, 226 children were killed in drunk driving crashes. Of those, 122 (that is 54 percent) were riding with the drunk driver.

According to the Texas Penal Code chapter 49, Intoxication is defined as “not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance in the body.” A person commits this felony of intoxication of alcoholic beverages if they are above the legal limit of .08 percent of blood alcohol concentration on a breath or blood test.

There can be several consequences for driving while intoxicated. According to the Texas Penal Code chapter 49, section 49.04, “a person commits this offense if the person is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.” This is a class b misdemeanor with a minimum sentence of three days in jail. Consequences for first time offenses include a minimum of three days in jail, and a suspended license for up to 180 days. A second offense includes a minimum of 30 days and a suspended license for up to two years. A third offense includes 2-10 years in jail, and a suspended license for up to two years. On top of jail time and a suspended license, all offences include fines ranging from $500- $2,000, alcohol teaching and prevention programs, treatment for alcohol abuse and community service.

Drunk driving overall costs the U.S $132 billion a year. Don’t be a statistic. Drunk driving is 100 percent avoidable. Call a friend to get you. Don’t put yourself and another citizen at risk.

http://www.madd.org/drunk-driving/about/drunk-driving-statistics.html

http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/dui-or-dwi-punishments-penalties-30321.html

http://www.statisticbrain.com/number-of-dui-arrests-per-state/

http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/texas-dui-dwi-33675.html

If you are seeking aggressive criminal representation by an experienced criminal defense attorney for your Denton County criminal case or arrest in Denton County, contact the offices of Tim Powers today. There is no charge or obligation for the initial consultation. 940.580.2899

*Tim Powers is an attorney licensed to practice law by the Supreme Court of Texas. Nothing in this article is intended to be legal advice. For legal advice about any specific legal question you should directly consult an attorney. Criminal Defense Lawyers with Unparalleled Passion for Success Providing Quality Representation for your Denton, Lewisville, Flower Mound, Carrollton, Corinth, Highland Village Dallas, Plano, McKinney, Denton County, Tarrant County, Collin County, or Dallas County criminal case

Get In Touch

Let us put our experience to work for you. Contact us to learn how we can help.