Law Office of Tim Powers
DWI penalties in Texas are tough, even for a first offense. The cost of
fines, community service, and a suspended driver's license are too
high to be taken lightly. If you have had previous DWI convictions you
may now be facing
felony DWI charges and the possibility of mandatory jail time.
While the courts will take a person's circumstances into account when
deciding on penalties, you need an experienced lawyer to make your case
in court. At the
Law Offices of Tim Powers, we know how to fight for our clients and we get results.
Defense attorney Tim Powers has more than 15 years of experience handling criminal cases and DWI offenses
in Texas courts. He was regarded as one of the best DWI defense attorneys
in Texas and is a member of the National College for DUI Defense.
Se habla español
Contact us day or night:
Any DWI conviction on your record is permanent and will be used against
you if you are ever arrested and charged with a misdemeanor or felony
DWI charge in the future.
DUI (driving under the influence for a person under age 21), Class C misdemeanor
- Up to $500 in fines, probation and community service, and loss of drivers'
license up to a year.
First offense DWI penalties, Class B misdemeanor
- Up to a $2,000 fine, 180 days in jail, mandatory alcohol-education classes
and driver's license suspension (though you may qualify for an occupational
Second offense DWI, Class A misdemeanor
- Possible consequences include fines of up to $4,000, up to a year in jail,
community service for a determined period of time and lengthy driver's
Third offense, third degree felony
- Up to a $10,000 fine, ten years in prison, possible community service,
driver's license suspension for a significant length of time, and
the installation of an ignition interlock device on your car. These devices
can be expensive to install and often require monthly monitoring fees.
The court may also order inpatient substance abuse treatment, an extended
probation upon successful completion of alcohol education and a mandatory
prescription for Antabuse.
Intoxication assault, third degree felony
- Up to a $10,000 fine, ten years in prison, possible community service and
a lengthy driver's license suspension.
Intoxication manslaughter, Second degree felony
- Up to a $10,000 fine, from a minimum of two to no more than twenty years
in prison, possible community service or alcohol education classes and
permanent driver's license revocation.
Contact our Denton County office for a free consultation with a DWI defense lawyer if you have had
several past DWI convictions. We fight hard to protect your rights throughout
the legal process.
If you are seeking aggressive criminal representation by an experienced
criminal defense attorney for your Denton County DWI case or arrest in
Denton County, contact the offices of Tim Powers today. There is no charge
or obligation for the initial consultation. 940.580.2899.
*Tim Powers is an attorney licensed to practice law by the Supreme Court
of Texas. Nothing in this article is intended to be legal advice. For
legal advice about any specific legal question you should directly consult