Law Office of Tim Powers
Have you recently been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) in
Texas? If so, it is important to understand the many penalties you now
face—even if it is your first offense
As you most likely know, it is illegal to operate a vehicle while under
the influence of alcohol or drugs. For this reason, a DWI first offense
is a type of Class B Misdemeanor, which is the second most severe type
of misdemeanor offense in the state (other examples of Class B Misdemeanors
include theft and drug possession).
If convicted of a first offense, you can be sentenced to a minimum of 72
hours in jail. This number increases if you were caught driving with an
open container of alcohol and, as a result, you may be behind bars for
up to six days.
A DWI conviction is far from cheap. You may be fined up to $2,000—and
this does not include the numerous administrative fees you may have to
pay. The state of Texas also fines first offenders an additional $1,000
yearly surcharge, which must be paid for the next three years after your
conviction. This fee doubles if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was 0.16%
The penalties for a DWI offense do not only include jail time and fees.
If you are convicted of a first offense, you may lose your license for
up to a year, or be ordered to attend a 12-hour DWI education program
at your own expense. Community service and probation may be included in
your sentence as well.
Along with the penalties, a DWI conviction will also impact your day-to-day
life. Your auto insurance costs will skyrocket once your insurer learns
of your conviction, and you may be required to have an ignition interlock
device installed in your vehicle. It is also important to remember that
a DWI conviction will remain on your driving record forever, which may
make obtaining certain jobs difficult, and result in higher insurance
premiums for the course of your life.
Fortunately, a DWI arrest does not automatically lead to a conviction.
An experienced DWI attorney can challenge the charges against you and,
in many cases, may be able to reduce or eliminate them altogether.
As a member of the National College for DUI Defense, Denton County Defense
attorney Tim Powers has the knowledge and experience to fight your DWI
charges. Mr. Powers received training from the National Highway Safety
Administration and, after representing hundreds of clients like you, is
highly familiar with the first offense laws. Put his expertise to work for you.
Contact Tim Powers today for a free consultation.
If you are seeking aggressive criminal representation by an experienced
criminal defense attorney for your Denton County DWI case or arrest in
Denton County, contact the offices of Tim Powers today. There is no charge
or obligation for the initial consultation. 940.580.2899.
*Tim Powers is an attorney licensed to practice law by the Supreme Court
of Texas. Nothing in this article is intended to be legal advice. For
legal advice about any specific legal question you should directly consult